A chimney inspection is an important diagnostic tool. Homeowners use Inspections to identify the cause of drafting issues. They also use chimney inspections to find damage in the flue liner and assess the structural stability of their chimney. At Jack Pixley Sweeps, we offer 3 levels of chimney inspections to ensure top efficiency and safety of your chimney system.

Three levels of chimney inspection

chimney graphicIn January 2000, the National Fire Protection Agency (NFPA) introduced three standardized levels of chimney inspection. This policy states that “Chimneys, fireplaces, and vents shall be inspected at least once a year for soundness, freedom from deposits, and correct clearances. Cleaning, maintenance, and repairs shall be done if necessary.” These standardized levels of chimney inspections help homeowners feel confident that their system is getting the proper care it needs.

Level 1 inspections

Level 1 chimney inspections are the most common type of inspection. We perform this level of inspection with regular chimney maintenance, or when your system is not experiencing any performance problems. During this inspection, we inspect all accessible portions of the interior and exterior of the chimney for signs of damage or deterioration.

Level 2 inspections

A level 2 chimney inspection is more intensive than level 1 inspection. In a level 2 chimney inspection, we provide an overview of the condition of the entire chimney system. We recommend level 2 chimney inspections for a new fireplace or insert installation, the relining of a chimney, or when you switched the fuel source in your system. You also need a level 2 inspection before buying or selling a home.

In the level 2 chimney inspections, we use closed-circuit cameras to view inaccessible portions of the chimney. This allows the chimney technician to view the entirety of the flue to check for cracks, damages, blockages, or other chimney issues.

Level 3 inspections

Level 3 chimney inspections are invasive. You only need this inspection if you suspect the structural stability of the chimney is in question. Typically, you will need this chimney inspection after a chimney fire, earthquake, tornado, or other natural disasters. We only use level 3 chimney inspections as a last resort, since this inspection involves removing part of the masonry or surrounding building materials such as bricks, walls, ceilings, siding.

The importance of chimney inspections

“A chimney inspection is like an annual dental check-up,” Director of Education for the CSIA Ashley Eldridge said. “It’s preventative maintenance that helps minimize potential hazards.” Chimney inspections are an important part of maintaining your chimney system. At Jack Pixley Sweeps, we meet all NFPA standards for chimney inspections. In addition, we use Chim-Scan camera systems as a part of all three levels of our chimney inspection.

A chimney inspection is an important diagnostic tool that can help identify the source of an odor. It also ensures your chimney is structurally sound and prepares your home to be sold. For more information on what type of chimney inspection your home need or to schedule your next chimney inspection, contact Jack Pixley Sweeps today!